Happy Birthday, Hitch!

Alfred Hitchcock is one of my absolute favorite directors (along with Wes Anderson), and today just happens to be his birthday. If he was alive today, Hitch would be 114 years young, and probably still making wonderful motion pictures. I knew about Hitch for as long as I can remember, but I hadn’t ever seen one of his films until last fall (sad, but true). I saw Psycho in my Cinema Studies class and fell in love instantly. Since then, I’ve watched 15 of his other films and have loved each one of them–some more than others, but I’ve still enjoyed them all. Psycho remains my favorite, but I also thoroughly love The Man Who Knew Too Much (1934), The Lady Vanishes, North by Northwest, Notorious, and Spellbound. Yeah, I know, there are some of the so-called “essential” films that aren’t on that list (Vertigo, Rear Window, The Birds), but that’s okay; that’s why watching films is subjective. I just happen to prefer some of his other films. That’s not to say that they are bad (which would be blasphemous, because they are truly great pieces of film), but I simply don’t like them as much as some others.

Alfred Hitchcock

But, anyway, happy birthday, Mr. Hitchcock. You’re endlessly inspiring. I feel like there is so much more to be said than just this little snippet, but I’m at a loss at the moment. I am watching Psycho tonight in honor of his birthday.

Here’s a list of his films that I’ve seen (in alphabetical order):

Dial M for Murder
Foreign Correspondent
North by Northwest
Notorious
Psycho
Rear Window
Rebecca
Saboteur
Spellbound
The Birds
The Lady Vanishes
The Man Who Knew Too Much (1934)
The Man Who Knew Too Much (1956)
The 39 Steps
To Catch a Thief
Vertigo

And, here’s the famous Shower Scene from Psycho. It’s quite famous, but I urge you not to watch it if you haven’t seen the film yet. This scene was the reason why Hitch was so notoriously stringent about not letting people into the film after it had already started.

Leave a Reply

