Mary Poppins: 50th Anniversary Blu-ray

Mary Poppins - 50th Anniversary Blu-ray

Now would you look at that! This came completely out of the blue. I had originally believed that we would see a Blu-ray release of the film when it turned 45 in 2009, but, alas, we only got another DVD version of the film. But, releasing on December 10, 2013, the Mouse House will give us Mary Poppins on Blu-ray for the very first time (in a lovely Blu-ray/DVD/Digital Copy combo release to boot). Wow, to think that I haven’t bought this film since it’s 40th anniversary DVD release makes me feel kind of old…

I have to say that Mary Poppins isn’t really up there with the rest of my favorite films, but I do enjoy it quite a bit, and I can understand where a lot of the film’s fans come from. I do need to revisit the film, though, as it has been awhile since I’ve seen it (I know, shame on me). Here’s to hoping that this release will see all of the produced bonus features that have been made over the years by Disney (in addition to the Becoming Mr. Sherman documentary, and the rather useless Mary-oke feature). The packaging is somewhat different that Disney’s normal fare, and that’s refreshing. There aren’t any random floating heads (which is always good), though the silver and the random splotches of color are a tad odd. Oh, well. Hopefully this release will surprise me!

And, of course, one must consider that this release has something to do with the upcoming film Saving Mr. Banks; whether it’s a shameless plug for that film or an honest-to-goodness release that will introduce Mary to a new generation (as it should be), it’s still an exciting release.

Oh, and just to be clear, Mary is actually only going to 49 this year. Silly Disney…

Thanks to Albert for bringing this to my attention!

One thought on “Mary Poppins: 50th Anniversary Blu-ray

Leave a Reply

